The Road to India


Scotland and the Netherlands were joint winners of the ICC World T20 Qualifiers after the final was washed out.

Played in Scotland and Ireland this July, Scotland and the Netherlands finished first and second in Group B. Scotland beat Hong Kong by five wickets in the first semi-final, while the Netherlands beat Ireland – also by five wickets – in the second semi-final.

The final and the third-place playoff (between Hong Kong and Ireland) were meant to be played in Malahide, Dublin last Sunday (July 26), but there was no play allowed.

Despite the anti-climax, the finalists earnt qualification for the Indian World  T20 in 2016, joined by Ireland (3rd), Hong Kong (4th), Afghanistan (5th) and Oman (6th).

Ireland (4-2) won Group A, followed by Hong Kong (3-2-1 no result), Namibia (3-2-1 no result), PNG (3-2-1 no result), USA (3-3), Jersey (2-4) and Nepal (1-4-1 no result).

Scotland and Netherlands finished Group B with 4-2 records, ahead of Afghanistan (3-1-2 no results), Oman (3-2-1 no result), Kenya (3-2-1 no result), UAE (1-4-1 no result) and Canada (0-5-1 no result).

With the associate teams deemed unworthy to compete in the long form World Cup, the World T20 is their chance to gain international exposure. Hopefully the six qualifiers will be competitive and improve their cricket against the Full Members. With Twenty20’s unpredictable nature, they may even cause some upsets.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s