Joe Burns is one of the fresh inclusions for Australia’s Twenty20/limited-over leg of the Ashes.

Captained by Steve Smith, Burns will be joined by Ashton Agar, George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummings, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade and Cameron Boyce (though Boyce will only play T20).

Discarded all-rounder Shane Watson has been given another chance, while Mitchell Marsh, Mitchell Starc and David Warner have been retained from the Tests.

Burns played in two Tests against India last summer before he was omitted from the Caribbean tour, so it’s pleasing that he’s been given another chance.

Western Australian all-rounder Stoinis has been included after 22 first-class matches and nine Big Bash games for Perth Scorchers.

Ashton Agar, who made a stunning Ashes debut two years ago, is back in the Australian squad after playing for Australia A in India. He’s taken over the frontline spinner role from Xavier Doherty.

Australia play a warm-up match against Ireland (August 27), before one T20 at Sophia Gardens (August 31) and a five match limited-overs series against England (September 3-13).

Australia have a strong recent record against England, beating them in the opening World Cup game and three times in the ODI tri-series (including the final).

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), Ashton Agar, George Bailey, Joe Burns, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, David Warner, Cameron Boyce (T20I only).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s