The Bush Bashers


With the Big Bash entering its fifth season later this year, Cricket NSW have announced a regional Big Bash.

Sixteen teams across two zones (the Thunder Zone and the Sixers Zone) from country NSW and ACT will play a knockout tournament later this year.

THUNDER ZONE: ACT Aces, Border Bullets, Central West Wranglers, Murrumbidgee Rangers, Orana Outlaws, South Coast Crew, Southern Riverina Vipers, Wagga Wagga Sloggers.

SIXERS ZONE: Central Coast Rush, Central Coast Chargers, Hunter Hitmen, Illawarra Flames, Macquarie Coast Stingers, Newcastle Blasters, Northern Inland Bolters, Northern Rivers Rock.

The knockout games will start on October 11 and finish November 1.

Sunday December 6 will be Finals Gala Day at the SCG, with the remaining four teams from the Thunder and Sixers zones playing off.

NSW legends Doug Walters (Sixers Zone) and Len Pascoe (Thunders Zone) are tournament ambassadors, helping with coaching, regional promotion and development of T20 and bush cricket.

The tournament is sponsored by Transport NSW as the Plan B Regional Bash.

This is a brilliant chance to spread the game to the bush. The inclusion of the ACT is vital considering Canberra’s growing stature (with Manuka Oval hosting the 2015 Big Bash Final, World Cup games and One Day Internationals). Twenty20 is the perfect format for expansion, so hopefully the Plan B Regional Bash is a huge success.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s