Bangladesh tour squad announced


Australia has announced their Bangladesh Test squad for next month.

Cameron Bancroft and Andrew Fekete will make their debuts while Adam Voges has been promoted to vice captain. Both Bancroft and Fekete played in the recent ‘A’ tour to India.

Joe Burns, Patrick Cummins, Glen Maxwell, Usman Khawaja and Stephen O’Keefe all return to the Test team. O’Keefe was picked ahead of Fawad Ahmed, who struggled in tour games in the Caribbean and England. 

Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Peter Nevill, Peter Siddle and Mitchell Starc have been retained from the Ashes series.

Voges, on the verge of being dropped during the Ashes series – replaces the injured David Warner as vice-captain.

Steve Smith will captain his first full series after Michael Clarke’s retirement.

Bancroft – just 22 – has played 24 first class games for Western Australia, scoring four hundreds and six fifties.

Fekete, a 30-year-old pace bowler, has played 18 first class matches for Tasmania, taking 62 wickets.

Australia will play two Tests against Bangladesh before a home summer against New Zealand and the West Indies.

SQUAD: Steve Smith (c), Adam Voges (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Joe Burns, Patrick Cummins, Andrew Fekete, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Stephen O’Keefe, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s